Duct Tape as Fine Art – Hot Chocolate Tape Art


This guy is incredible. I met him on Etsy a while back and was blown away by his artwork. I asked him to send me some more info and pictures- I hope you guys enjoy this as much as I do!

His Etsy shop is pretty new, but some of his best work is featured there!

Screen Shot 2013-06-14 at 5.34.10 PM

When did you start getting into crafting, what did you start with? 

I started taping in the summer of 2011,when I moved into my sophomore year dorm room. my first project was a 6 foot Pikachu on the wall of my dorm room. I started off using only black duck tape and scissors.

Do you work outside of your Etsy shop? If so, what is your occupation? How do you find time for both? 

I do not work outside of my etsy shop I am a aeronautical engineering major at Sonoma State University, but i am looking for a summer job. i am usually doing physics or calculus and on the weekends or whenever I need a break I work on my tape projects.

How did you learn about Etsy?

I found out about etsy from a guy on the city bus on my way home with the canvas for Lion in the night savannah piece. He saw my canvas and asked what kind of art do I do. I told him it was kind of hard to explain so i showed him pictures of all my previous work and told him i was having a pretty hard time selling my work to other students on campus. He was amazed by my duct tape pieces and he suggested that I would have no problem selling them on etsy.


When did you start your shop?

I started my shop just after i finished my Lion in the night savannah piece.

How did you come up with your Etsy shop name?

My shop name Hot Chocolate Tape Art comes comes from my nick name Hot Chocolate Thunda with the addition my my art.


What are your favorite materials to work with/favorite mediums? 

I do a lot of drawing so pencil and sharpie are my favorite medium im not much of a fan of paints. I started doing duct tape art in my dorm room because i wanted to express my artistic side on the walls of my dorm room but i obviously i need a way to take them down when my year in that room finally came around so i painting my walls were out of the question. I suggested the idea of duct tape to my roommate and he was all for it as all as it didn’t damage the walls and we wouldn’t have to pay for it.


What is the furthest place you have traveled?

the furthest i traveled is home homein southern california to College in northern california so about 450 miles, ive been to las vegas once but just to help a friend move in haha.


Do you have pets?
I do not have any pets =( but I really want a ferret, they’re illegal in california though. =/


What is your favorite food?

My favorite food is chili cheese fries! or mac and cheese! or pizza! and i like vanilla milkshakes a lot too!


What do you enjoy doing on your free time?

On my free time I like to play basketball, video games, hang out with friends and listen to music.


What would people be most surprised to know about you?

I have 11 siblings 4 brothers and 7 sisters!

For more info:

instagram: HCThunda

Tumblr: thunda-v7.tumblr.com/

Etsy: www.etsy.com/shop/HotChocolateTapeArt

Leave a comment